RSS

Ta Da! It’s Magic!

15 Feb

Look:

Some little quilt gnomes came and sewed all my rows together! No, not really. It would be pretty amazing if there were magic quilt gnomes though. What really happened is my mother-in-law loaned me one of her sewing machines. Thank goodness, because I was afraid I was really going to stall out waiting for a new machine.

I’m pretty lucky- her Singer is a huge upgrade from my busted machine. It took me a little while to get “settled in” with it… adjusting tension, stitch length, etc. But now I’m obviously cruising! I need to add on the vertical sashing on the sides still, and I want to add a border too. It’s not quite wide enough to drape as far down on the bed as I want it to, so I’m considering just adding this border to the sides and not the top and bottom. I don’t know if I’m “hip” enough for that asymmetry though.

That’s the bed it’s going to go on. Please excuse how completely undecorated and basic this room is. The quilt is going to be the first element of style injected into this guest room. We haven’t put anything but hand-me-downs in here, so it’s not a great looking room yet. I’m hoping to change that in the near-ish future. Hoping is the key word there. We have so much to do in other rooms that get much more use. After nearly three years we still don’t have a dining room table! That is a subject for a completely separate post though… the list of things I’d like to do to our house… sigh. It’s a long list.

Here’s the quilt that’s on this bed currently. I love this quilt so much. If my house were burning down and I only had time to grab like three things, this quilt would be one of them. My mom made it for me and it was one of the first bed-sized quilts she made.

Unfortunately, I haven’t taken very good care of this quilt. Or, maybe I should say this quilt has been loved pretty aggressively:

I feel pretty horribly about all the rips on the top of this quilt. I know exactly how it happened, too. We let Truman on the bed. Lesson in quilt care: sharp puppy nails not only hurt, they will disembowel that priceless quilt on your bed.

My mom is supposed to be making a double wedding ring quilt for me (it’s probably not the last time I’ll mention this fact), and I’m wondering what I’m going to do when (IF?) I get it. I love having my dogs to snuggle with on the bed. Honestly, I’d be okay with kicking Truman off the bed (gasp!) but it makes me sad to think about kicking Finnegan off. He’s just so soft and snuggly.

On another domestic front- last night I made a pretty awesome meal for my Valentine.

I made a whole roast citrus chicken, red wine risotto with peas, and carrot celery root puree. All the recipes were from Giada on the Food Network. I usually love her recipes and these were no exception. We definitely got a full serving of vegetables! I took a few pictures of the cooking process, but I decided not to post them. When you don’t have a very good camera it’s really really really hard to make food look good. In fact, I’d say the photos I took made all my food look pretty unappetizing. Which is frustrating, because not only did the food I made taste really good, it DID look good. Just another reason to get a Digital SLR. If I only had about $500 to spare…

Anyway, these recipes were all pretty simple. I mean, if you don’t mind diligently watching the risotto so it doesn’t scorch and getting out the stick blender to puree those vegetables. Dessert was even easier, since I just went out and bought it, but can you blame me?

Cupcakes from The Flying Cupcake and candies from The Best Chocolate in Town. The candies were 2 caramels, 2 sea salt chocolate caramels, and three truffles: Sun King Weemac (flavored with a brew from a local brewery), Rosemary, and Fiery Pepper. I bought some of these chocolates for Valentine’s Day last year and, man! They do not disappoint. The cupcakes are a little more fun to photograph, though, so here are the stars:


Here Comes the Bride (almond flavored and gigantic)!

Pucker Up. Lemon flavored and very pretty.

Salted Caramel Chocolate. Seriously the best frosting ever.

Irish Car Bomb: Chocolate Guinness cupcake with Irish Cream frosting. Can’t wait to try it.

We did NOT eat all of those treats. I think tonight we’ll finish everything up for sure! I don’t know if Brian should trust me home alone with them until then though…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 15, 2012 in Quilting

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Ta Da! It’s Magic!

  1. Anna

    February 15, 2012 at 2:18 PM

    Aww, I love that wedding cupcake! I’ve seen Giada make that risotto before– it looks so good, and I love the pink color. I also love that tablecloth!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
