RSS

Guess what time it is?!

11 Feb

Yep. Time to buy a new sewing machine.

Yesterday, just a couple hours after I published my last post, the Singer conked out on me. It’s making a horrible noise and the second picture is the horrible loopy mess it’s making on the back stitch. Taking it in to get repaired is an option, but not a very good one for me because this machine was very cheap. Like $100 at least 8 years ago. So, I’m kinda surprised it even lasted this long, but it’s still a bummer to be out of a sewing machine when I’m in the middle of a quilt top!

Now the question is, what to get to replace it? I’m thinking a Janome, but mostly just because that’s what my mom has. I’m hoping I’ll get something that has a few more features than this VERY basic first machine. Like an up/down needle stop option, and a lock-stitch (sew in place) feature. I’d be pretty happy with those. And, hopefully I can upgrade from knobs to digital controls. I don’t know when the new purchase will happen, so I might be very bored in the meantime. Hopefully I can find something to blog about!

Well, goodbye Singer 5050C. You were my first.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 11, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Guess what time it is?!

  1. Folly Bloom

    February 12, 2012 at 2:04 AM

    I to would be lost if my machine died. 😦 looking at you pic though it looks like the tension has loosened……… Good luck. x

     
    • mgutowsk

      February 12, 2012 at 8:57 AM

      Yep, looks like tension. Unfortunately, I can put the tension all the way up and it’s still a loopy mess! There’s also a scraping/grinding/bashing noise and the fabric is pulling erratically. I don’t have much hope but thanks for the luck!

       

Leave a Reply

 
