RSS

Runny Nose & Building Blocks

31 Jan

Am I three again? No, but I have been puttering around the house with a runny nose while I play with my blocks. I’ve been sick the last few days, so the only thing I’ve really had any energy for is quilting. That said, lemme show you the progress I’ve made on my purple & aqua quilt.

We started out here.

Then things started growing…


And things really took off after I figured out a better process: chain sewing a bunch of components instead of doing one block at a time!

And, thanks to two solid days of pity-parties and a bad cold…
Voila!

It took forever to figure out the layout of all those blocks. I ended up deciding I wanted the blocks I liked the most closest to the center. Sorry the photos aren’t the best quality- my camera stinks at taking pictures inside, and it was rough trying to fit everything in the frame. Truman got pretty bored of me taking pictures…

Or maybe jealous. He figured out how to get my attention though…
Smartie Pants! Trumie really likes this one. Sorry Oso, this one is not going on our bed.

Although I took two days off of running, I got back to it today. Technically I took a sick day off of work, but I guess I shouldn’t have because turns out I felt good enough for a run. It was 57 stinkin’ degrees today- how could I not run?!? The glory of running in a single layer of clothing!!!!!

Here’s something I’ve been liking a lot on my runs:

It’s a Tervis Tumbler that Brian got from one of his athletes. I kinda stole it. In this household we’ve kinda got a use-it-or-lose-it mentality. The reason I really like this is because it holds a lot of water, keeps it cold, AND it fits into the cupholder in the car. AND it has the Bulldog on it. I was using a Nalgene bottle (remember those?) for a long while, but that did NOT fit in the cupholder. Plus, I like sipping out of this lid better.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2012 in Quilting, Running

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Runny Nose & Building Blocks

  1. Helen Gutowski

    February 1, 2012 at 8:08 AM

    I like the layout, the 4 aqua ones in the corners especially. I hope you numbered the squares before you picked them up. Are you going to put the white sashing between the squares?

     
  2. mgutowsk

    February 1, 2012 at 10:02 AM

    Thanks Mom. I did remember to number the blocks. See- I listen when you tell me how to do things! I’m still not sure about the sashing. I probably will put it in so the quilt is big enough.

     
  3. Oh Sew Tempting

    February 10, 2012 at 3:46 PM

    I love all of the purples šŸ™‚ Framing the large prints is a fab idea. Thanks for sharing the photos of Truman too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
