RSS

Berkley’s Quilt

18 Jan

My friend Callie- whose wedding quilt you just saw in a previous post- had her second baby in December. While Callie was busy with stuff like, oh… labor, I was busy putting together a quilt for her new little girl, Berkley. I gave it to her (them?) on New Years, and forgot to take pictures. So, I have Callie to thank for taking and sending me these so I could share.

This was my inspiration pattern, but most of my fabric was leftovers, so they were in too small of pieces to follow the pattern directly. So, I improvised: I changed the scale, pieced the blocks together individually, and added the border. I am really happy with how it came out! There were some mistakes here and there, but my Mom kept insisting that no one would notice except me.

This is the fabric on the back. I decided to go with all one piece because the quilt was small enough and I just LOVE this Paradise print by Art Gallery. (Loved it enough to make ANOTHER quilt with it, as soon as I choose a pattern.)


I did get some help from my mom on this quilt. She did this awesome basket-weave quilting pattern, which I’m happy to say Callie’s husband Geoff noticed right away! I contributed about 3 rows of the quilting 😉 Mom also got me started on the binding, but I finished it up by hand.


And there’s Berkley, the little Miss herself! I like that the quilt it isn’t made with the typical nursery-type prints or colors, and I think her parents do, too. Hopefully Berkley is okay with that!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 18, 2012 in Quilting

 

Tags:

One response to “Berkley’s Quilt

  1. Laura

    January 18, 2012 at 10:35 AM

    This is *beautiful*. Love it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
