RSS

Captain’s Log, Stardate 64962.9

17 Jun

NERD ALERT! Yes, I am a total dork. I searched for a stardate calculator and found one just so I could write my title for today’s post. It doesn’t have much to do with what I want to share, but I’ve always thought that a captain’s log sounded cool. When I was growing up we’d watch Star Trek: Next Generation on tv every night as we’d eat dinner… my sister Ginger and I would always recite the opening sequence together and then we’d settle down when we heard Picard start his captain’s log. So really today’s title is just on a whim… a pretty nerdy way of saying, “hey, I’m checking in.”

This week kicked off the first week of my official training and the first week of creative writing camp. It’s been simultaneously rough and yet satisfying. I’ve gotten some really good runs in…. I ran my mile PR in 7:11 on Monday and then took 3 minutes off my previous 5K time on Thursday, (from 28:11 to 24:56). So while I dreaded going for my run almost every day after camp, I was able to suck it up and get to work. I’m turning into a decent runner. I hope to eventually get my mile into the 6:00 range and run my 5K next week sub-25:00. The mini is still looming in the distance at this point!

Camp has been going pretty well… these are always the most exhausting two weeks of my year. I work with 3rd-5th graders, which is a complete 180 after working with college freshmen all school year. I’m not exactly sure why I like working with this age group so much… they have tons of energy which makes it challenging to settle them down and get focused on writing. I guess I like it because they’re not old enough to be embarrassed of being silly. We start every morning off by screaming and they love it. I think I also like that at this age they are still “little ones” but you can really talk to them, explain things and watch them learn. Of course, usually by the end of the day I’m glad to see them go home to Mom & Dad.

On another subject, some of my veggies are really taking off! I’ll share pictures soon… it’ll be nice once camp is over to have more time to think about posting instead of just camp, eat, run, sleep.


 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 17, 2011 in Running

 

Tags:

One response to “Captain’s Log, Stardate 64962.9

  1. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg

    June 18, 2011 at 2:59 PM

    Go, go, go!!!! You’ve gotten so speedy already!

     

Leave a Reply

 
