RSS

Running into Summer

07 Jun

Don’t you feel like it’s been the sort of spring where all of a sudden BLAM! summer is here? I feel like we’ve hardly had any days in the 70’s, skipped right into the upper 80’s and 90’s. I normally wouldn’t complain because all the sun and warm weather is good for my veggie plants, but I’ve set myself a new goal that doesn’t mix well with high temps. I’ve decided to sign up to run a mini-marathon!

I’ve been an on-and-off runner for the last 3-4 years. I’m a spring and fall runner.. when the weather is nice I like to run, but once it gets hot or too cold I usually stop. I’m hoping to change that habit this summer and signing up for the mini is a way to see that I get it done. If I have a big goal to achieve then hopefully I’ll keep things going. So far, so good. I’ve been running pretty consistently since the beginning of May when I ran a 5k and a few weeks ago I ran 10 miles for the first time. I was so proud of myself, I could hardly believe I did it, but it made me think that if I can run 10 miles I can run 13, right?

I guess we’ll see… the race is dated for August 2nd at a big park in Indy. I’m hoping since it’s mostly on trails that it’ll be shady and cool that morning. Brian said he’ll write me a training program to follow, but for now it’s mostly just been me running 4, 6, or 8 miles in the morning before it gets hot. Finnegan usually wakes me up at 6:30 by pacing around the room or panting, so I’ve been going out pretty early. Today I flubbed it up and fell back to sleep after putting my running clothes on. Whoops! I know I can’t slip toooooo much to keep on track, but I’ll just write this one off as a day for my blister to heal.

So, in preparation for the race I thought it’d be a good idea to set some other running goals. So this month I’d like to try running 100 miles. So I’m going to use this nifty ticker to keep track of my progress:


I think I can do it, and if I do hit this goal, then next month I might raise the goal to 150 miles. Wish me luck!

I’ve also got some more photos of the garden to share. Of course I’m still not satisfied with what I’ve got… especially the garden bed up front. Things are looking kind of thin and whispy instead of lush and full. But, I guess I’ll work on that this fall and next summer because I’m not making the mistake of planting anything in this heat like I did last year!

Can’t wait until we’ve got some vegetables to eat!!! Looks like the beans might be the first to bear fruit, but it’s the tomatoes I want!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 7, 2011 in Garden, Running

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
